Maybe There is Something More OR R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

Respect is esteem for, or a sense of the worth or excellence of, a person, a personal quality,or ability…
respect-the-old-school-opos11

When I was in the military, the leaders above me demanded that I respect them. Some of my teachers in school demanded that I respect them. Sometimes I demand that others should respect me. I am working as a substitute teacher in school right now, and this idea of respect and the need for it has got me thinking…

Jesus the Rabbi had every opportunity to demand respect, he was in the right role for it, especially in the Jewish society. To be a Rabbi was more like being the pope, well, to the extent of political popularity and theological groundedness that is. Yet, he never demand it. I might even say he didn’t necessarily expect it. Why? Isaiah writes what was going to happen to the Son of God, :”he is bruised for our transgressions” and another word he uses is “despised”. Jesus wasn’t going to be popular from the get-go. His goal wasn’t to be popular. It was to change the world. What if respect is reserved for those who think they need it because they have yet to find their purpose? Jesus wasn’t even bothered that people didn’t respect him, why? (E.g., Jesus chatting with Pilate about who he was; Jesus knew who he was, he didn’t need someone else’s respect to validate that — maybe we need it sometimes because, we might not be fully aware of who we are meant to be)

Because, he knew what he was meant to do, he was in line with his purpose. (Now, this is where I go on a rant that I think God doesn’t care about what job we do or where we go with it — I do think he does want us to use it to make him famous (another word for glory)). Having said that, I think there is a purpose for everything, whether we know it while we are here, well, that’s a different story. Jesus even tells his friends that they should be aware that the road that they are travelling together will not be an easy one, for some, (as we now know) may include death. Respect should be the last thing on our mind. If our goal becomes respect then maybe we aren’t truly satisfied with what we are doing. Maybe there is something more…just maybe.

Leave a Reply

