It Was Almost Enough To Make Me Stop Believing

This is a spoken word poem which is technically written to be spoken and heard rather than read.

Go here if you are interested in hearing the poem.


It Was Almost Enough To Make Me Stop Believing. by Liz Dyer

Defacto segregations

Emotional manipulations

Personal salvations

ALL the proclamations.

I had taken the bait

Walked through the narrow gate

Learned what to hate

Was certain of my eternal fate.

I could spew the roman road, so proud, so bold, part of the fold, and believed what I was told.

I’m in – you’re out – no doubt what I’m talking about

I know – I’m right – I’m the one walking in the light

You lose – I win – come on, I’ll point out your sin.

Prostituting every opportunity

Wanting to be the supermajority

Working to oppress homosexuality

Don’t forget about being offended by profanity.

Let’s hang out in our Christian bubble

Let’s try to stay out of trouble

Don’t wander away from the holy huddle.

Forget about conversation – debate for domination – practice your presentation – and talk about eternal damnation.

Pick a verse to justify being chauvinistic

Deny it when they say you are legalistic

Preach a gospel that is individualistic

Forget that it seems a little imperialistic.

Don’t question the authority, know what’s a priority, don’t worry about the minority, that’s our expository.

The Christianization – the dehumanization

The demonstration – the incorporation

Made ME start to question.

What about the brotherly love?  The justice that was spoken of ?

The one we were in awe of?  The mercy they talked of?

Didn’t they get the memoranda that we were supposed to love with no agenda?

Didn’t they notice the lack of transformation? The absence of civil conversation?

Weren’t we supposed to be known by our fruits instead of by our refutes?

Weren’t we supposed to make the world a better place full of love and hope and grace?

Where was the creativity?  The spirit of generosity?  The chance for serendipity?

Thank God I broke free!

Cause it was almost enough to make me stop believing.

Copyright 2010. All Rights Reserved.

My name is Liz and I am a follower of Jesus Christ who lives in Texas (Dallas/Fort Worth area).  I am married and have two sons.  I enjoy reading, blogging, listening to music, going to movies, the emergent conversation, traveling and hanging out with friends and family. I blog at Grace Rules (http://gracerules.wordpress.com/ ).  I named my blog Grace Rules because although I have a history of letting things like rules, regulations, law, convictions, and stuff like that rule my life, I am determined to become a woman who is ruled by grace and love.

8 comments

  1. Joy · May 26, 2010

    This is absolutely brilliant and amazing and profound and…IT.IS.TRUTH.

    Like

  2. george · May 26, 2010

    this is brilliant liz. i am working on the narrow road passage tonight, i think it means something completely different to what most christians might think it means. kee writing!!!

    Like

    • gracerules · May 27, 2010

      I look forward to reading what you reveal.

      Like

  3. Jonathan Brink · May 26, 2010

    That is friggin awesome.

    Like

  4. Jules · May 26, 2010

    LIZ, this is AMAZING!!!! you go girl!

    Like

  5. Jennifer · May 26, 2010

    Beautifully said!

    Like

  6. Oralia · May 26, 2010

    Amen, I bet there are a lot that feel the same

    Like

  7. gracerules · May 27, 2010

    Thank y'all (that's southern for thank you:-) so much – I had fun writing it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

